Aggravated Robbery Lawyer in Texas

"Aggravated Robbery is a far more serious charge than normal robbery."

"Considering your future is at stake, who you hire matters. Make the right choice."

Aggravated Robbery in Texas

Aggravated Robbery is a far more serious charge than a normal Robbery charge. It is classified as a first-degree felony, which carries up to 99 years in prison and the potential of a $10,000 fine. A lawyer specialized in defending aggravated robbery is essential to your future. You could be facing this serious charge if you are accused of committing a robbery, as defined above, and in the commission of that offense, you:

 

  1. Cause serious bodily injury to another,
  2. Use or exhibit a deadly weapon, or
  3. Cause bodily injury to another or threaten or place another in fear of injury or death when that person is either 65 years old or disabled.
Contact the Law Firm of Matthew Pillado now for a Fast Consultation

800-672-3911

Is Aggravated Robbery a Federal Charge?

While most laws dealing with robbery are controlled at the state level, there are three federal robbery statutes. The Federal Bank Robbery Act punishes bank robbers and includes additional penalties for the use of deadly weapons. Another statute punishes theft of government property from the mail service. The third, the Hobbs Act, comes closest to a federal aggravated robbery statute. It punishes the theft of property or property rights by “threatened or actual use of force, violence or fear.” The Hobbs Act has been used in cases involving organized crime.

Contact for Fast Consultation.

11 + 13 =

PENAL CODE

TITLE 7. OFFENSES AGAINST PROPERTY

CHAPTER 29. ROBBERY

Sec. 29.03.  AGGRAVATED ROBBERY.  (a)  A person commits an offense if he commits robbery as defined in Section 29.02, and he:

(1)  causes serious bodily injury to another;

(2)  uses or exhibits a deadly weapon;  or

(3)  causes bodily injury to another person or threatens or places another person in fear of imminent bodily injury or death, if the other person is:

(a)  65 years of age or older;  or a disabled person.

(b)  An offense under this section is a felony of the first degree.

(c)  In this section, “disabled person” means an individual with a mental, physical, or developmental disability who is substantially unable to protect himself from harm.

Contact the Law Firm of Matthew Pillado now for a FREE Consultation

800-672-3911

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This