Simple Assault in Texas
"Do you need a lawyer for a Simple Assault charge in Texas? Call Matthew Pillado PLLC."
"A Simple Assault Lawyer can help defend your rights and ensure justice."
Defending against Simple Assault Texas charges.
According to Texas Penal Code §22.01, you could be arrested for the crime of simple assault if you intentionally, knowingly or recklessly cause bodily injury to another person, threaten another person with imminent bodily harm or cause physical contact with another person that you know is provocative or offensive.
Having skilled and aggressive representation is imperative in a Simple Assault case. The criminal defense lawyers at Matthew Pillado PLLC. with thoroughly investigate the prosecution’s case and everything that was involved in the situation. Our criminal defense team is skilled at finding the facts and defending our clients to the utmost of their legal rights in Simple Assault cases.
The possible penalties for Simple Assault in Texas
In the state of Texas, simple assault can either be charged as a Class A, Class B or Class C misdemeanor. The severity of the charges will depend on the nature of the altercation. If the assault resulted in minor injuries to the victim, for example, you would be charged with a Class A misdemeanor. If the altercation only involved threatening or touching, you could face Class C misdemeanor charges. If a threat was made against a sports official or referee, however, you could be charged with a Class B misdemeanor.
Class A misdemeanor: up to one year in jail and $4,000 in fines
Class B misdemeanor: up to 180 days in jail and $2,000 in fines
Class C misdemeanor: up to $500 in fines
In Texas, the family violence laws or domestic violence laws apply not only to spouses or family. These laws also include anyone residing in the household or related through blood and affinity. Simple Assault can also be charged as family violence under these circumstances.
Contact for Fast Consultation.