State Laws Regarding Marijuana – Poss. For Personal Use 

By Daisy Garcia 

Current Marijuana Poss. Laws in the U.S.

Alaska – Possession of 1 to less than 4 ounces is a Class A misdemeanor punishable by up to 1 year imprisonment and/or a fine up to $10,000. However, if the use, display, or possession was for personal use and occurred in the confines of the offender’s private residence, there is no penalty and this act is protected under the Alaskan constitutional right to privacy.

Arizona – Possession for personal use of less than 2 pounds of marijuana is a Class 6 felony, punishable by a minimum sentence of 4 months, a maximum sentence of 2 years, and a minimum fine of $1000 or a fine to exhaust the proceeds of the drug offense.

Arkansas – Possession of less than 4 ounces of marijuana is a Class A Misdemeanor, punishable by up to 1 year in jail and a fine of up to $2,500.

California – Possession of more than 28.5 grams is a misdemeanor punishable by up to 6 months imprisonment and/or a fine up to $500.

Colorado – Private possession by persons 21 years of age or older of up to one ounce is no penalty.
Possession of more than 1 – 2 ounces is a drug petty offense that is punishable by a maximum fine of $100. The offender will be summoned and a court appearance is mandatory. Failure to appear in court is a Class 3 misdemeanor, which is punishable by up to 6 months in jail and a fine of up to $750.
Possession of more than 2 to 6 ounces of marijuana is a level 2 drug misdemeanor, punishable by up to 1-year imprisonment and a fine not to exceed $700.

Connecticut – Possession of less than one-half ounce of marijuana by a first time offender carries a civil penalty of $150..
Possession of more than one-half ounce of marijuana can be punished with a prison term not to exceed one years and a fine not to exceed $2000.

Delaware – Possession of up to one ounce (28.35 grams) is a civil penalty, punishable by no more than a $100 fine. Possession of more than one ounce, but less than 175 grams of marijuana is an unclassified misdemeanor. If there are one or more aggravating factors involved, possession is a class B misdemeanor.

District of Columbia – Adults 21 years of age or older may possess up to two ounces of marijuana in their primary residence without penalty.
Unless marijuana was obtained through a doctor’s recommendation, intentional or knowing possession of more than two ounces of marijuana is a misdemeanor with a penalty of incarceration of up to 6 months and a fine of not more than $1,000.

Florida – Possession of 20 grams or less of cannabis is a misdemeanor punishable by a maximum sentence of 1 year imprisonment and a maximum fine of $1,000.
Possession of more than 20 grams of cannabis is a felony punishable by a maximum sentence of 5 years imprisonment and a maximum fine of $5,000

Georgia – Possession of 1 ounce or less of marijuana is a misdemeanor punishable by up to 12 months imprisonment and/or a fine up to $1,000, or public works for up to 12 months.
Possession of over an ounce is a felony punishable by a minimum of 1 and maximum of 10 years imprisonment.

Hawaii – Possession of less than 1 ounce of marijuana is a petty misdemeanor punishable by up to 30 days imprisonment and/or a fine of $1,000.
Possession of 1 ounce or more but less than 1 pound is a misdemeanor punishable by up to 1 year imprisonment and/or a $2,000 fine.

Illinois – Possession of 10 grams of marijuana or less is a Civil Violation, punishable by a fine of $100-$200 and no jail time.
Possession of more than 10 – 30 grams of marijuana is a Class A misdemeanor for a first offense, which is punishable by a jail term of up to 1 year and a max fine of up to 2,500.

Louisiana – For first offenders, possession of 14 grams or less of marijuana is punishable by a fine of up to $300 and/or up to 15 days of imprisonment.
For first offenders, possession of more than 14 grams but less than 2 ½ pounds of marijuana is punishable by a fine of up to $500 and/or up to 6 months of imprisonment.

Maine – An adult may possess up to 2.5 ounces of marijuana or up to 2.5 ounces of marijuana and marijuana concentrate including no more than 5 grams of marijuana concentrate.
Possession of a “usable amount” with proof of a physician’s recommendation is not punishable.
Possession of between 2.5-8 oz. is a Class E crime punishable by a maximum sentence of 6 months imprisonment and a maximum fine of $1,00

Maryland – Possession of less than 10 grams in Maryland is a civil offense (fine not exceeding $100 for first-time offenders, $250 for second-time offenders, and $500 for third or subsequent offenders).
Possession of between 10 grams and less than 50 pounds of marijuana is a misdemeanor with a punishment of up to one year imprisonment and a fine not exceeding $1,000

Massachusetts – An adult may possess up to one ounce of marijuana; up to 5 grams of marijuana may be marijuana concentrate.
Possession of more than one ounce of marijuana is punishable by a fine of $500 and/or imprisonment of up to 6 months. However, first offenders of the controlled substances act will be placed on probation and all official records relating to the conviction will be sealed upon successful completion of probation.

Michigan – An adult may possess up to 2.5 ounces of marijuana; up to 15 grams of marijuana may be marijuana concentrate.
Possession of more than 5.0 ounces of marijuana is a misdemeanor. No term of imprisonment will be imposed unless the possession involved violence or was “habitual, willful and for a commercial purpose.”

Minnesota – Possession of 42.5 grams or less is a misdemeanor punishable by a maximum fine of $200.
Possession of more than 42.5 grams – less than 10 kilograms is a felony punishable by a maximum sentence of 5 years imprisonment and a maximum fine of $5,000.

Mississippi – A first offense for possession of 30 grams or less is punishable by a fine of $100-$250.
Possession of between 30 and 250 grams is a felony punishable by a maximum of 3 years imprisonment and/or a maximum fine of $3,000, or by up to one year imprisonment and a maximum fine of $1000

Missouri – Possession of up to ten grams for first-time offenders is Class D misdemeanor, punishable by a maximum fine of $500, but no jail time.
Possession of over 10 grams but less than 35 grams is a Class A misdemeanor which is punishable by a maximum sentence of 1 year imprisonment and a maximum fine of $2,000. Second-time marijuana possession offenses are also classified as a Class A misdemeanor offense, even if the quantity possessed is under 10 grams.
Possession of 35 grams- 30 kilograms* is a Class D felony which is punishable by up to 7 years imprisonment and a maximum fine of $10,000.

Montana – Possession of 60 grams or less of marijuana is a misdemeanor punishable by up to 6 months imprisonment and a fine of $100 – $500.

Nebraska – Possession of 1 ounce or less is an infraction, which is punishable by a maximum fine of $300. The judge may order the offender to complete a drug education course
Possession of more than 1 ounce – 1 pound is a class III misdemeanor punishable by a maximum sentence of 3 months imprisonment and a maximum fine of $500.

Nevada – Adults are not participating in the state’s medical cannabis program can legally possess personal use quantities of cannabis (up to one ounce and/or up to 3.5 grams of concentrate).
The possession of greater quantities of marijuana remains subject to criminal penalties.

New Hampshire – Possession of more than 3/4 ounce is a misdemeanor punishable by a maximum sentence of 1 year imprisonment and a maximum fine of $350.

New Jersey – Possession of 50 grams or less is a “Disorderly Person” offense punishable by a maximum sentence of 6 months imprisonment and a maximum fine of $1,000.
Possession of more than 50 grams is a crime in the 4th degree punishable by a maximum sentence of 18 months imprisonment and a maximum fine of $25,000

New Mexico – For first offenders, possession of 1 ounce or less of marijuana is a petty misdemeanor and is punishable by a fine of $50-$100 and/or up to 15 days of imprisonment.
Possession of more than 1 – less than 8 ounces of marijuana is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of $100-$1000 and imprisonment for up to 1 year.

New York – For a first offender, possession of up to 25 grams of marijuana is punishable by a fine of $100.
Possession of marijuana in excess of 25 grams – 2 ounces is a class B misdemeanor and is punishable by no more than 3 months imprisonment and a fine not to exceed $500.
Possession of marijuana in excess of 2 ounces – 8 ounces is a class A misdemeanor and is punishable by no more than 1 year of imprisonment and a fine not to exceed $1,000.

North Carolina – Possession of 0.5 ounces or less of marijuana is a Class 3 misdemeanor and a maximum fine of $200. Any sentence of imprisonment imposed for this offense must be suspended.
Possession of more than 0.5 to 1.5 ounces is a Class 1 misdemeanor punishable by 1 to 45 days imprisonment and a discretionary fine for a first offense, and maximum fine of $1000.
Possession of over 1 and a half ounces but less than or equal to 10 pounds is a Class I felony punishable by 3 to 8 months imprisonment and a discretionary fine for a first offense.

North Dakota – Possession of 1 ounce [28.35 grams] or less of marijuana is a class B misdemeanor punishable by a maximum imprisonment of 30 days, a fine of one thousand five hundred dollars, or both.
Possession of more than 1 ounce but less than 500 grams is a Class C felony which is punishable by a maximum sentence of 5 years imprisonment and a maximum fine of $10,000.

Ohio – Possession of less than 100 grams is a minor misdemeanor punishable by a $150 fine.*
Possession of 100 – 200 grams is a misdemeanor punishable by a maximum sentence of 30 days imprisonment and a maximum fine of $250.

Oklahoma – Possession of any amount of marijuana is a misdemeanor with a term of imprisonment of up to one year and a fine of up to 1,000 [conditional release is possible for a first offense.

Oregon – There is no fine or penalty for possession of 1 ounce or less of marijuana in public. However, the use of any marijuana is a class B violation punishable by a maximum fine of $1,000.
Possession of more than 1 – 2 ounces of marijuana is a class B violation punishable by a fine of up to $1,000.

Possession of more than 2 – 4 ounces of marijuana is a class B misdemeanor punishable by up to 6 months in prison jail and a fine of up to $2,500.

Pennsylvania – Possession of 30 grams or less of flower or 8 grams or less of hashish (concentrates are not further defined) is a misdemeanor punishable by 30 days in jail and/or a $500 fine.
Possession of more than 30 grams of flower or more than 8 grams of hashish is a misdemeanor with a maximum penalty of 6 – 12 months incarceration and a $5,000 fine.

Rhode Island – Possession of marijuana up to one ounce by an individual 18 years or older is a civil violation, punishable by a $150 fine, no jail time, and no criminal record.
Possession of 1 ounce to 1 kilogram is a misdemeanor that is punishable by a maximum of 1 year imprisonment and a maximum fine of $50

Utah – Possession of less than 1 ounce is a class B misdemeanor punishable by a maximum sentence of 6 months imprisonment and a maximum fine of $1,000.
Possession of 1 ounce – 1 pound is a class A misdemeanor punishable by a maximum sentence of 1 year imprisonment and a maximum fine of $2,500

Vermont – Possession of 1 – 2 ounce is a misdemeanor punishable by a maximum sentence of 6 months imprisonment and a maximum fine of $500.
Possession of 2 ounce-1 pound is a felony punishable by a maximum sentence of 3 years imprisonment and a maximum fine of $3,000.

Washington – Adult possession, in private, of up to one ounce of cannabis for personal use (as well as the possession of up to 16 ounces of marijuana-infused product in solid form, and 72 ounces of marijuana-infused product in liquid form) is not subject to criminal or civil penalty.
Possession of one ounce to 40 grams is a misdemeanor, punishable by a mandatory minimum of 24 hours and maximum of 90 days in jail.
Possession of more than 40 grams is a class C felony punishable by up to 5 years imprisonment and/or a fine up to $10,000.

West Virginia – Possession of marijuana in any amount is a misdemeanor punishable by not less than 90 days, nor more than 6 months and not fined more than $1,000.

Main Address

4425 W. Airport Freeway
Suite 452
Irving, Texas 75062

Office Hours

Monday - Friday | 8:30 am – 4:30 pm
Weekends: Closed
Available by phone 24/7

Subscribe